Monday, August 24, 2009

The Immortals Series Book 1

Brief Synopsis
For fans of P.C. Cast and Stephenie Meyer, a paranormal young adult novel about a psychic girl who falls in love with an immortal boy.


Evermore is quite dramatic. Our main character, Ever, endures a huge tragedy, that not only forces her to relocate and rebuild her life in a completely different environment, but she realizes soon after that she has gained a special gift that allows her to hear the thoughts of others. Though we all imagine at one point or another we could read minds, in Ever's situation it is quite painful, and she wants nothing to do with it. In the tradition of good YA (Young Adult)books, a mysterious young man comes into town, and is drawn to Ever. Though at first sight she is not comfortable with his staring, and the strange way he seems to transport, so as to always be one step ahead of her. He is strangely familiar, and so the puzzle begins. Who is Damien? and Why does Ever have a feeling that knowing him is an understatement? This story is never what you imagine it to be. I had so many thoughts running through my head as to what secret Damien was hiding, and not once was I right. I was totally surprised in the end, and with young adult novels I can usually see what's going to happen next. The twists the writer adds makes it almost impossible to put down. The relationship between Ever and her friends is carefree and normal, as far as they know, but aside from them your attention can't help but fall on the mysterious connection between Ever and Damien. You crave them more and more as the details and secrets begin to unravel, and just when you think you've figured it out, another twist, and you're wrong again.
I was captured by this book, and it's beautiful cover, that only makes sense once you've read the book. I was completely engrossed by Alyson Noel's writing style and Bought the second book in the series not too long ago. I look forward to the rest of the series.